Data Roles and Descriptions

For data management, specific individuals play defined roles based on their area of expertise to ensure data at the University of Georgia is properly managed and secured.

                                            data management hierarchy

 

Data Role Descriptions
Data Trustee
    • Cabinet-level position with overall responsibility for data being read, created, reported, updated or deleted by units under them. Typically, stewards report to trustees.

Data Steward
    • Data stewards are business owners with deep knowledge of their data domain and related business practices. They are accountable for approving access requests, maintaining data quality and developing meta data for the data they steward.

Data Custodian
    • Custodians are designated by and typically report to data stewards. They are authorized to grant access to elements within the data domain for which the steward is accountable.

Data User
  • An individual who has been authorized to access data.

Trustees and Stewards

Student

Data Trustee:

  • Dr. Rahul Shrivastav, Vice President for Instruction, rahuls@uga.edu

Data Steward:

  • Student Records and Curriculum: Fiona B. Liken, Associate Vice President and Registrar, fliken@uga.edu
  • Admissions: Patrick Winter, Associate Vice President for Admissions and Enrollment Management, pwinter@uga.edu
  • Financial Aid: Anthony Jones, Director of the Office of Student Financial Aid, jones68@uga.edu
  • Office of Academic Honesty: William Vencill, Associate Vice President for Instruction, wvencill@uga.edu
  • Division of Academic Enhancement: Naomi Norman, Associate Vice President for Instruction, nnorman@uga.edu
  • Center for Teaching and Learning: Dr. Megan Mittelstadt, Director of Center for Teaching and Learning, megan.mittelstadt@uga.edu
Finance and Administration

Data Trustee

  • Ryan Nesbit, Vice President for Finance and Administration, rnesbit@uga.edu

Data Steward:

  • Facilities : Ralph Johnson, Associate Vice President for Facilities Management, rfj@uga.edu
  • Finance (including Student Accounts): Holley Schramski, Associate Vice President for University Business and Accounting Services, hschrams@uga.edu
  • Student Accounts: Lisa McCleary, Senior Director, lmcclear@uga.edu
  • Human Resources: Juan Jarrett, Associate Vice President for Human Resources, jarrettj@uga.edu
Development

Data Trustee

  • Kelly Kerner, Vice President for Development and Alumni Relations, kkerner@uga.edu

Data Steward:

  • Development Finance and Revenue (UGAF): Rebecca Caravati, Chief Operating Officer/Chief Financial Officer, UGA Foundation, rebecca.caravati@uga.edu
  • Development Donor Data: David Jones, Executive Director of Annual Giving and Constituent Development, dsjones@uga.edu
Research

Data Trustee

  • Dr. David C. Lee, Vice President for Research, dclee@uga.edu

Data Steward:

  • Research: Gary Rachel, Director of Office of Research IT Operations, gcrachel@uga.edu
Faculty

Data Trustee

  • Dr. Sarah Covert, Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs, covert@uga.edu

Data Steward:

  • Faculty Records: Tina Weidemann, Assistant Director of Faculty Appointments & Records, guthrie@uga.edu
  • Elements Data: Charlotte Surratt, UGA Elements & Faculty Data Coordinator, csurratt@uga.edu
  • Faculty Contracts: Randolph Carter, Manage Faculty Events Lead, lrcarter@uga.edu
  • Promotion and Tenure: Dr. Sarah Covert, Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs, covert@uga.edu
EITS

Data Trustee

  • Dr. Timothy M. Chester, Vice President for Information Technology, tchester@uga.edu

Data Steward:

  • Historical Data: Paul Klute, Director of the Office of Institutional Research, pklute@uga.edu
  • Identity Management: Ben Myers, Chief Information Security Officer, bmyers@uga.edu
Graduate Admissions

Data Trustee

  • Dr. Suzanne Barbour, Dean of the University of Georgia Graduate School, sbarbour@uga.edu

Data Steward:

  • Graduate Admissions Data: Cheri Bliss, Director of Graduate Student Services, cbliss@uga.edu
Student Affairs

Data Trustee

  • Victor K. Wilson, Vice President for Student Affairs, wilsonv@uga.edu

Data Steward:

  • Academic Partnerships and Initiatives Operations: Beate Brunow, Director of Academic Partnerships and Initiatives, B.Brunow@uga.edu
  • Center for Leadership and Service Operations: Jen Rentschler, Director of the Center for Leadership and Service, jenren@uga.edu
  • Greek Life Operations: Claudia Shamp, Directof of Greek Life, cshamp@uga.edu
  • International Student Life Operations : Justin Jeffery, Director of International Student Life,  jsj@uga.edu
  • LGBT Resource Center Operations: Chad Mandala, Director of the LGBT Resource Center, chad.mandala@uga.edu
  • Multicultural Services and Programs Operations: Rosa Githiora, Director of Multicultural Services and Programs, rosa.githiora@uga.edu
  • Office of Student Conduct Operations: Barrett Malone, Director of Student Conduct , bmalone@uga.edu
  • Office of the Dean of Students Operations: Bill McDonald, Dean of Students, bmcdonal@uga.edu
  • Office of the Dean of Students Business Management: Beau Seagraves, Associate Dean of Students and Director of Student Care and Outreach, beaus@uga.edu
  • Recreational Sports: Keith Wenrich, Director of Recreational Sports, kwenrich@uga.edu
  • Student Affairs Business Management : Amanda Patterson, Associate Vice President of Student Affairs and Chief of Staff, amandabp@uga.edu
  • Student Affairs Communications and Marketing : Stan Jackson, Director of Student Affairs Communications and Marketing Initiatives , ugastan@uga.edu
  • Student Affairs Development Operations: Steve Pitts, Director of Development, swpitts@uga.edu
  • Student Affairs Learning and Strategic Initiatives Operations: Kara Fresk, Director of Learning & Strategic Initiatives , kfresk@uga.edu
  • Student Care and Outreach Records: Beau Seagraves, Associate Dean of Students and Director of Student Care and Outreach, beaus@uga.edu
  • Student Conduct Records: Barrett Malone, Director of Student Conduct , bmalone@uga.edu
  • Student Disability: Erin Benson, Director of the Disability Resource Center, eew@uga.edu
  • Student Engagement: Kara Fresk, Director of Learning & Strategic Initiatives , kfresk@uga.edu
  • Student Health: Garth Russo, Interim Executive Director of the University Health Center , grusso@uga.edu
  • Student Housing: Linda Kasper, Executive Director of University Housing, linda.kasper@uga.edu
  • Student Veteran Resource Center Operations: Ted Barco, Director of the Student Veterans Resource Center , tbarco@uga.edu
  • Tate Student Center Operations: Jan Barham, Associate Dean of Students and Director of the Tate Student Center, davisjk@uga.edu
  • Testing Services: Yvette Leverett, Director of University Testing Services and Accommodated Testing, yvettel@uga.edu

Our Philosophy

The University of Georgia’s institutional data are valuable resources that should be used in a legal, ethical and responsible manner. The value of institutional data is increased through appropriate, shared use that is consistent with policies, procedures, and legal requirements; its value is diminished through misuse, misinterpretation, and unnecessary restriction to its access.

Institutional data are shared assets stewarded by individual units for the benefit of the University of Georgia, its students, and stakeholders. The value of data as an asset is enhanced by the consistent application of policies, procedures, and common definitions. Data are managed to ensure high quality and access that is consistent with legal and ethical requirements. Data are governed through a collaborative process that includes representation from units that have responsibility for the data.

Learn more about the UGA Data Access Policy

Data Governance Committtee Framework

The University of Georgia actively manages its data assets using established best practices for data management and governance. Our data management and governance framework consists of a strategic data governance committee, the Data Management & Governance Committee, and data domain-specific committees of data stewards and managers. These committees play complementary roles in creating, managing and promoting a common understanding of the institution’s administrative data.

                                            data gov committee hierarchy

Data Management & Governance Committee (DMGC)
A subcommittee of the Administrative Systems Advisory Committee (ASAC), the Data Management and Governance Committee (DMGC) of the University of Georgia (UGA) is charged with recommending policies, procedures and best practices to UGA leadership that will support the management of UGA data as a protected and valuable asset.
Administrative & Financial Data Management Committee (AFDMC)
The purpose of the Administrative and Financial Data Management Committee (AFDMC) is to provide steward-level governance of data within the domains of finance, budget, facilities, HR, payroll, sponsored projects administration and development. The committee will be comprised of data stewards from each of these data domains, institutional research, EITS staff and data custodians as delegated by the data stewards.
Academic Data Management Committee (ADMC)
The purpose of the Academic Data Management Committee is to define and promote a consistent approach to stewarding institutional data and support data driven decision making. The committee will provide guidance and recommendations concerning use of academic and student data, data access, definitions, data standards and processes related to using the available reporting tools and frameworks.

Resources from Gartner Data Literacy Presentation

These resources have been made available for use through Gartner and are intended for internal use only. Please do not replicate or share outside the University.